Posted by: Jo Duxbury | 15 July 2009

When imitation isn’t flattering

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, perhaps I should be pleased that someone stole the content from one of my articles and passed it off as her own (i.e. without crediting me or getting my permission to use it) on her website.

But I’m not pleased. I am shocked that someone who is in competition with me would do such a sneaky and underhand thing. Plagiarism is stealing. I am saddened that this sort of thing happens (a lot, according to some of my Twitter friends) – and I fail to understand why she thought I wouldn’t find out.

Instead of stealing my work, I wonder why she didn’t opt for link love or collaboration? She operates in a different part of the country – we might even have been able to refer clients to each other. Instead, she’s now on my blacklist.

Check whether your work has been plagiarised

Simply Google a phrase from something you’ve written and if it appears elsewhere online, it will come up in the search results. Sometimes people make small changes to word order (or in the case of my plagiariser, she added typos and deleted some examples) – this is to fool search engines into thinking it is not cut and paste content.

Another useful tool is CopyScape – which is actually what I used to discover that my work was being used elsewhere.

A final word

To the person who plagiarised my work: shame on you.

Responses

  1. […] me angry, disappointed and frustrated when someone with no scruples steals my work. (It’s not the first time it has […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

